2015 Graham Foundation Grant Recipients

The Graham Foundation for Advanced Studies in the Fine Arts has awarded individual grants to several School of Architecture students, alumni, faculty and fellows for their innovative work in architecture.

Recipients are as follows:



Spyros Papapetros (with Gerd Zillner)

Frederick Kiesler's Magic Architecture

Jesse Reiser (with Nanako Umemoto)

Projects and Their Consequences



Esther Choi (with Marrikka Trotter)

Architecture is All Over



Daniel López-Pérez

Fuller in Mexico!/Fuller en México!

Meredith Miller

Bioplastics! Architecture's Many Natures

Stephen Phillips

Elastic Architecture: Frederick Kiesler and Design Research in the First Age of Robotic Culture

Sara Stevens

Developing Expertise: Real Estate and Architecture in Metropolitan America



Fabrizio Gallanti

Las Ciudades del Boom


According to its press release, "The Graham Foundation will award over $490,000 to support 63 outstanding projects by individuals that engage original ideas in architecture. Among the funded projects are exhibitions, publications, multimedia archives, documentary films, podcasts, symposia, participatory workshops, and live performances."

Established in 1956 by prominent Chicago architect, Ernest R. Graham, the Graham Foundation provides project-based grants to individuals and organizations that further creativity, scholarhip, experimentation and dialogue in architecture.