Professor Elizabeth Diller Named 2022 Wolf Prize Laureate


Professor Elizabeth Diller Named 2022 Wolf Prize Laureate

February 8, 2022 


Professor Elizabeth Diller has been named a Wolf Prize Laureate in Architecture for 2022. She was selected "for her exceptional and influential work connecting architecture to artistic practice, engaged in the public domain."


Elizabeth Diller has completed groundbreaking projects in the connected worlds of art and architecture, radically representing her propositions to the wider public. With three decades of work between academia, research and practice, her efforts have radicalized the relationship between architecture, art and the engagement of a larger audience. Many key works of her studio, Diller Scofidio + Renfro – including notably, Blur Building from the 2002 Swiss Expo to the High Line which first opened in 2009 in New York – have involved designing public spaces with an emphasis on scenographies that migrate from performing and visuals arts spaces to the urban landscape. These environmental projects are informed and activated by Diller and partner Ricardo Scofidio’s early, self-generated and alternative projects, including ‘para-site,’ installed at MoMA in 1989, as well as the Mile-Long Opera, a performance Diller co- created and directed in 2019, featuring 1,000 singers along the High Line. This approach has transformed the ways in which new subjectivities are conceived.


Professor Diller is one of 18 architects to ever receive the Prize in Architecture since its inception in 1978. This year the prize was also awarded to duo Momoyo Kaijima & Yoshiharu Tsukamoto of Atelier Bow-Wow. 


For more about the 2022 Prize in Architecture:



More about the Wolf Prize

Since 1978, The Wolf Foundation awards the acclaimed, international Wolf Prize.

The acclaimed Wolf Prize is awarded to outstanding scientists and artists from around the world, (regardless of nationality, race, colour, religion, sex or political views) for achievements in the interest of mankind and friendly relations amongst peoples.

The scientific categories of the prize include Medicine, Agriculture, Mathematics, Chemistry and Physics. The Prize’s art categories include Painting and Sculpting, Music and Architecture. The prize laureates are selected by international Jury Committees which  comprise world-renowned professionals from all over the world.

The prize in each field consists of a certificate and a monetary award of $100,000. To date, 345 scientists and artists from all over the globe have been honored.

The prize presentation takes place at a special ceremony at the Knesset (Israel´s Parliament), in Jerusalem.