NAAB Statement


National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)

In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards. Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a preprofessional undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the preprofessional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

Princeton University School of Architecture offers the following NAAB-accredited degree program(s):
(If an institution offers more than one track for an M. Arch. or D. Arch. based on the type of undergraduate/preparatory education required, all tracks should be listed separately.)

Master of Architecture (non-preprofessional degree + 108 graduate credit hours)

Master of Architecture (preprofessional degree + 72 graduate credit hours)

Next accreditation visit for all programs: 2024

In order to promote transparency in the process of accreditation in architecture education, the following documents are available to the public in the Dean’s Office, located at S-110 Architecture Building:

  • Annual Reports
  • NAAB responses to the Annual Reports
  • Final decision letter from the NAAB
  • Architecture Program Report (2014-2015)
  • Visiting Team Report (2015)

Also available are the NAAB 2014 Conditions for Accreditation and the 2012 Procedures for Accreditation.